Fiji is an island nation in the South Pacific. The country is made up of over 300 islands, of which 110 are inhabited. The two main Fijian Islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, account for 87% of the population of almost 850,000.

The capital of Fiji is Suva, situated on Viti Levu. Almost three quarters of the total population live in Suva.

Important towns are Nadi, which is the location of the international airport, and Lautoka, which is a large seaport.

The 1997 Constitution of Fiji guarantees freedom of religion. Indigenous Fijians are mostly Christians and the Indo-Fijians are mostly Hindu and Muslim. Fiji is very multi-racial and multi-cultural. Visitors are more than welcome to join locals for Sunday worship.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.